Terrific Tuesday – Philippians 4:10-20

Philippians 4:10-20
New International Version (NIV)

Thanks for Their Gifts

10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. 15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; 16 for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. 17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Message:
Are you content in any circumstances you face? Paul knew how to be content whether he had plenty or whether he was in need. The secret was drawing on Christ’s power for strength. Do you have great needs, or are you discontented because you don’t have what you want? Learn to rely on God’s promises and Christ’s power to help you be content. If you always want more, ask God to remove that desire and teach you contentment in every circumstance. He will supply all your needs, but in a way that he knows will be best for you.

About Kristina Miller

I am a 43 year old Wife, Mother of Two Boys 12 and 6, 2012 IDC Breast Cancer SURVIVOR, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Football and Lacrosse Fan, Antique Junky, Healthcare Worker, and Life Group Leader who attends Mountain Lake Church in Cumming, GA. Going through life trying to BE the best I can, and be a BLESSING to as many as possible. I created this blog, with the help of my husband, Sean, for my small group's weekly bible study readings. I am using a NIV teaching bible to help deliver the messages. I'm so glad you're here! God Bless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Terrific Tuesday – Philippians 4:10-20

  1. Abigail L says:

    Thanks for the application of this passage! Contentment is a constant battle.

Leave a Reply

