Terrific Tuesday – 1 Corinthians 13:1-13

Love Is Indispensable

1If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.
4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. 13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Message:
13:4-7
Our society confuses love and lust. Unlike lust, God’s kind of love is directed outward toward others, not inward toward ourselves. It is utterly unselfish. This kind of love goes against our natural inclinations. It is possible to practice this love only if God helps us set aside our own desires and instincts, so that we can give love while expecting nothing in return. Thus the more we become like Christ, the more love we will show to others.

13:13
Love is the greatest of all human qualities, and it is an attribute of God himself. Love involves unselfish service to others; to show show it gives evidence that you care. Faith is the foundation and content of God’s message; hope is the attitude and focus; LOVE IS THE ACTION. When faith and hope are in line, you are free to love completely because you understand how God loves.

About Kristina Miller

I am a 43 year old Wife, Mother of Two Boys 12 and 6, 2012 IDC Breast Cancer SURVIVOR, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Football and Lacrosse Fan, Antique Junky, Healthcare Worker, and Life Group Leader who attends Mountain Lake Church in Cumming, GA. Going through life trying to BE the best I can, and be a BLESSING to as many as possible. I created this blog, with the help of my husband, Sean, for my small group's weekly bible study readings. I am using a NIV teaching bible to help deliver the messages. I'm so glad you're here! God Bless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

